Early Years Foundation Stage

Early childhood is the foundation on which children build the rest of their lives. At Scotch Orchard Primary School, we greatly value the importance that the EYFS plays in laying secure foundations for future learning and development. Our Nursery and Reception classes make up the Early Years Foundation Stage. 

The EYFS is based around four themes. These are:

• A Unique Child

Every child is a unique child who is constantly learning and can be resilient, capable, confident and self-assured.

• Positive Relationships

Children learn to be strong and independent through positive relationships.

• Enabling Environments

Children learn and develop in enabling environments, in which the provision responds to individual needs and there is a strong partnership between practitioner and parents and carers.

• Learning and Development

Children develop and learn in different ways. The curriculum covers education and care of all children in early years provision, including children with special educational needs and disabilities.

Our curriculum is also split into Characteristics of Effective Learning and Areas of Learning and Development, which are all interconnected. 

Characteristics of Effective Learning are the ways in which each child engages with other people and their environment;

  • Playing and Exploring     
  • Active Learning
  • Creating and Thinking Critically

Areas of Learning and Development are split into Prime and Specific Areas:

Primeareas are fundamental, work together, and move through to support development in all other areas. Specificareas include essential skills and knowledge for children to participate successfully in society.

At Scotch Orchard Primary School we deliver the EYFS through a curriculum which is centered around topics and themes which the children help to generate. We strive to provide the children with an experience which they will find exciting, engaging and rewarding. We recognise the changing needs and interests of our pupils and we are responsive to this, regularly developing and enhancing existing topics to cater for ‘in the moment’ learning. Links are made between the seven areas of development through purposeful play. 

We are also lucky to have a forest school area to investigate, see wildlife and changes in our natural environment. Books are at the heart of our EYFS curriculum, and we use stories to learn about the world, ourselves, and each other. 

Phonics at Scotch Orchard Primary School follows the Department of Education approved document “Letters and Sounds”.We start teaching children Phase One in Nursery which allows children to become aware of the sounds they hear in their immediate environments, as well as the sounds they can create themselves, using their body or instruments. When children reach Reception, we move on to Phase Two, which introduces the children to 23 new phonemes. During this phase the children will learn to recognise, form and use these sounds in simple consonant-vowel-consonant (CVC) words to begin to read and write simple words and captions. Once they have conquered this skill, they start reading stories and texts that have words made up of the sounds they know. This means that they can embed and apply their phonic knowledge and start to build their reading fluency.

The Early Years Foundation Stage Framework (EYFS) sets out the learning and development stages for children as they grow from birth to five years. The purpose of the booklet below is to help you as a parent/carer find out more about how your child is learning and developing during their first five years, in relation to the EYFS. 

EY Website what-to-expect-when-guide-for-parents. (1).pdf